Bietjie oor die weer toestande hierso in Hawkes Bay

Hawkes Bay bad weather warning.North Island Roads closed Print E-mail
Posted by Issy   
Wednesday, 25 June 2008
NZPA – Motorists are being urged to take care as heavy snow and ice forces road closures across the country, and gale force winds are forecast for later today. They warned gale force winds reaching 120kmh could hit Manawatu, Hawke’s Bay, Wairarapa and Wellington later today, with had the potential to damage trees, powerlines and roofs, and make driving difficult for large vehicles and motorcycles.Snow has closed the Desert Road between Rangipo and Taihape and State Highway 4 through National Park with SH3 via Taranaki the only north-south route open

Police have warned drivers to drive carefully over the Rimutaka Hill Road, between Upper Hutt and Featherston, because of icy conditions — particularly in Kaitoki.

In the South Island, snow has closed SH7, near Hanmer Springs, SH60 between Riwaka and Takaka, SH93 from Clinton to Mataura, SH87 between Outram and Ngapuna.

Icy patches have also closed SH63 between Wairau Valley and Kawatiri, SH6 between Kohatu and Kawatiri Junction.

The MetService said snow showers that had affected the central North Island should ease by this morning.

MetService weather ambassador Bob McDavitt said stronger gales could hit exposed places such as the Manawatu Gorge and the Tararua district and Golden Bay in Southland.

The squally westerly winds, accompanied by heavy rain, are expected to last through to the weekend.

Yesterday, Auckland and New Plymouth were buffeted by gusts of up to 120kmh.

Boaties were being warned of gale-force winds for Manukau and Waitemata harbours, Hauraki Gulf and Bream Head to Cape Colville.

Yesterday snow fell to 200m in Southland and the road warnings were issued for much of the country.

Several Southland schools opted not to open as snow made access difficult.

ACC has warned motorists about winter driving, urging drivers to adapt as conditions deteriorated.

“What drivers need to remember is to reduce their speed and increase their following distances. About half of all crashes happen at or about the speed limit, and that’s often because the driver has been going faster than is safe in the conditions,” ACC spokesperson Judy Buchanan said.

Last year 108 people were killed on the roads between June and August — up 14 percent on 2006. ACC said it was estimated 36 of those deaths plus a further 1000 injuries were caused by people going too fast for conditions.

“Most people know the two-second following rule, but on wet roads you should increase that to at least four seconds, and on icy roads leave at least ten seconds between you and the vehicle in front,” Ms Buchanan said.

ACC also reminded drivers to be sure their windscreens were completely ice-free and demisted before driving off.

15 Responses

  1. Klink erg gevaarlik. Julle moet maar versigtig wees op die paaie.

  2. Nee fokkit Patches dis nou nie my cup of tea nie.Ek sal nie daar aard nie.Sterkte en jy moet maar aanpas.Bly jy dalk naby die vulkaan van Ruapehu?Jy moet maar lekker Cabernet Sauvignon drink hulle produseer dit mos daar by jou. Stuur my `n boks vol asb.

  3. Hel Patches, dis nou iets anders om aan gewoond te raak, heh?
    Moet julle met icechains ry of is dit nie nodig nie?

  4. Koeksister – jy haal die woorde uit my mond. Ek wou nou dieselfde vraag vra.

  5. Koeksister – jy haal die woorde uit my mond. Ek wou nou dieselfde vraag vra.

  6. Komaan Pathes ek wil hoor , jy mis die land ne.

  7. Ek het nog altyd gewonder hoe voel dit om met die kettings aan te ry Koekie..

  8. Ek ook Koeks. Miskien is dit so lekker skud gevoel..whahaha.

  9. Eish ek bly maar eerder innie Hel van Zoeloeland dink ek voor ek daai aanvat

  10. lekker skud gevoel??? Hehe koekie, jy’s weird..
    Ek dink nou weer aan ‘n skaatserige feeling.

  11. hallo julle, ja kyk dit is woes hierso vandag dit is nou 00h04 Donderdag oggend en ag my donner ek kannie slaapnie, die wind waai waaragtig waar baie sterk hier buite, my man en kinders slaap in een bed op die oomblik (my bed) en ekke sit voor die rekenaar, kan nie slaap nie. Breintjie ek mis my familie ongelooflik baie, maar dit is ook al, ek mis nie die crime nie, ek mis nie die bangheid nie, ek mis net my ma en boeta ongelooflik fokken baie😦

    Ek gaan nou eers gaan, en o ja brein, maak wyn vet? Want die hemel alleen weet as wyn vet maak dan het ek sopas in die laaste 2 ure baie fokken gewig aangesit ……….. my nerves boeta my nerves, die wind wat so waai hier buite ……… o nee wag ek moet gaan ek dink ekt nog ‘n glas nodig (met wyn of iets in)

  12. Patches: Sterkte. Een of 2 glasies maakie vet nie, maar bottels doen, maar what the hell, ek stuur vir jou boks op brein se account. hiehiehiehiehie

  13. Hehehe Koeksister.. ek kon net nie op die regte bewoording kom nie. Ek het eintlik bedoel ‘n skaatserige gevoel.

  14. Sodra Patches minder konsentreer op die wind en wyn kan sy ons dalk meer vertel, heh?

  15. hallo hallo🙂 hik ………….. ek’s hierso hoor. Nog in een stuk en deksels baie koud, maar die winde het darem bedaar. Waai nog so bietjie maar nie so erg nie. Koeksister jy moet uitkyk vir ‘n baie lang post oor my doen en late en als een van die dae met so paar fototjies ok ?🙂

Leave a Reply

